(Haz clic aquí para español)

Yes, that’s right, cucumber banana salad. I swear. This has become one of my favorite go-to dishes for a light lunch on a hot San Salvador afternoon. All the ingredients (with the exception of the Tahini, that is) are usually available at your neighborhood tienda, and in keeping with my [Hilary] preference for quick gratification, preparation time is all of 10-15 minutes. The result is a unexpectedly refreshing combination of tart and sweet.

IMG_8353

Ingredients:

  • 2 large bananas
  • 2 large cucumbers
  • 2 limes
  • 2-3 tablespoons tahini
  • 1 pinch salt (or to taste)

**I often add some Sriracha hot sauce to this for a kick / to feed my chile addiction, but it’s perfectly delicious without.

1. Peel your cucumbers and slice them into thin disks. Do the same with the bananas, and place them together in a large bowl.

IMG_8355

2. In a smaller bowl, squeeze the two limes. Mix in the tahini and salt.

IMG_8356
(hardly appetizing, I know, but bear with me…)

3. Pour the dressing onto the cucumber and banana, and stir together until thoroughly coated. Enjoy!

 

